Diversity, Ecology and Evolution of Microbes
Team
Purificación López-García
Research Director, CNRS

I am a biologist interested in very broad questions about the origin and early evolution of life on Earth, with a special focus on microbial lineages, which cover the vast majority of biological diversity.

puri.lopez@u-psud.fr

David Moreira
Research Director, CNRS

Many years ago, I had the chance to get an old microscope at home. It opened to me a new world full of wonderful organisms. Since then, I have always been interested in the diversity and evolution of microorganisms from the three domains of Life, trying to reconstruct their phylogeny and to understand how their genomes evolve. More recently, I also became interested in the evolutionary relationship between living (cells) and non-living (viruses) organisms. Contact: david.moreira@u-psud.fr

Ludwig Jardiller
Professor, Université Paris-Sud

ludwig.jardillier@u-psud.fr

Philippe Deschamps
Research scientist, CNRS

philippe.deschamps@u-psud.fr

Laura Eme
Research scientist, CNRS

My primary research interests are in evolutionary microbiology. I am particularly interested in the origin and evolution of the eukaryotic cell. My investigations revolve broadly around three topics: (1) Understanding the relationships of eukaryotes with the other two domains of life (Archaea and Bacteria); (2) Characterizing the evolution of key features of the eukaryotic cell ; (3) Investigating the phylogenetic relationships within the Tree of eukaryotes as well as the horizontal exchange of genetic material that might have occurred between distantly related eukaryote lineages. To tackle those, I have mainly used comparative (meta)genomic and molecular phylogenetic approaches, and I have focused on understudied unicellular eukaryotes (protists). Contact: laura.eme@u-psud.fr

Maria Ciobanu
Research assistant, CNRS

maria.ciobanu@u-psud.fr

Paola Bertolino
Technical assistant, CNRS

paola.bertolino@u-psud.fr

Ana Gutiérrez-Preciado
Postdoc

ana.gutierrez@u-psud.fr

Miguel Iniesto
Postdoc

miguel.iniesto@u-psud.fr

Guifré Torruella
Postdoc

guifré.torruella@u-psud.fr

Naoji Yubuki
Postdoc

My research has focused mainly on the biodiversity and evolution of protists living in aquatic and symbiotic environments. I have paid particular attention to the discovery of novel marine protists, characterization of the ultrastructure (e.g. microtubular cytoskeletons) and phylogenetic relationships and investigation of symbiotic relationships.

naoji.yubuki@u-psud.fr

Julien Massoni
Postdoc

julien.massoni@u-psud.fr

Jolien van Hooff
Postdoc

jolien.van-hooff@u-psud.fr

Lukas Novak
Postdoc

lukas.novak@u-psud.fr

Thomas Bacchetta
PhD student

thomas.bacchetta@u-psud.fr

Jodie Belilla
PhD student

jodie.belilla@u-psud.fr

Luis J. Galindo
PhD student

luis-javier.galindo-gonzalez@u-psud.fr

Fabian van Beveren
PhD student

fabian.van-beveren@u-psud.fr

Gwendoline David
PhD student

gwendoline.david@u-psud.fr

Guillaume Reboul
PhD student

guillaume.reboul@u-psud.fr

Jazmin Blaz
PhD student

jazmin-itzel.blaz-sanchez@u-psud.fr

Solenne Irion
PhD student

solene.irion@univ-littoral.fr

Brittany Baker
PhD student

brittany.baker@universite-paris-saclay.fr

Feriel Bouderka
PhD student

feriel.bouderka@universite-paris-saclay.fr

Stagiaires
Visitors and interns

2019-2020 Jeanne Chaumont, David Boulesteix, Dave Edison Rojas


Former members
Sergey Karpov
Invited prof., St Petersburg University

sakarpov4@gmail.com

Past PhD students and postdocs
Past PhD students

PhD students

Marie Ragon (2007-2011), Estelle Couradeau (2008-2012), Charles Bachy (2008-2012), Jonathan Lombard (2009-2012), Céline Petitjean (2009-2013), Marianne Simon (2010-2014), Aurélien Saghaï (2013-2016), Rafael Ponce-Toledo (2014-2018)

Postdocs

Emmanuelle Gérard (2003-2005), Jan Slapeta (2003-2005), Enrique Lara (2007-2008), Ana Belén Martin-Cuadrado (2007), Achim Quaiser (2007-2008), William Marande (2008-2009), Philippe Deschamps (2009-2010), Marie Ragon (2011-2012), Giselle Walker (2014-2015), Kamil Szafranski (2015-2017), Romain Derelle (2015-2016), Magdalena Ruiz (2016-2017), Albert Reñé (2017), Hélène Timpano (2016-2018)