Diversity, Ecology and Evolution of Microbes
DEEM Team

We have broad interest in different questions on the ecology and evolution of microbial life, from the origin of microbial diversity and its evolution since life emerged on Earth to the role of microbial communities in biogeochemical cycles. We combine complementary approaches including the exploration of extant prokaryotic and eukaryotic diversity by metabarcoding analysis, metagenomics, single cell ‘omics’ and phylogenomics to infer microbial functions and to elucidate the order of emergence of the different microbial groups and unravel their early evolutionary history. We have also broad interdisciplinary questions, in particular at the biology-geology interface.

The DEEM team, initially co-founded by Puri Lopez-Garcia and David Moreira, is one of the seven research components in the Ecology, Systematics and Evolution unit (UMR 8079, CNRS – Université Paris-Sud – AgroParisTech).

Latest in press

Archaea make up to 99% of microbial communities in geothermally influenced hypersaline lakes from the Danakil Depression, Ethiopia

Discovery of a new fungal phylum, the Sanchytriomycota, by our former PhD student Luis Galindo, in collaboration with Sergey Karpov

Vampirococcus lugosii, the vampire bacterium unveiled in Nature Comms. With some historical anecdotes.

Jolien and Laura contributed to a study of the conoid origin in apicomplexans (PLoS Biol)

Field trips

September 2021 - Iceland: a tour to collect diverse samples from hot springs across the island

December 2019 - Salar de Huasco, Chile: Guided by Cristina Dorador and her team, we have sampled microbial mats and sediments along a salinity gradient in the high altitude (3800 m) Salar de Huasco in Chile.

More information

Open positions

If you are a motivated graduate or PhD student or a young postdoc interested in our research activities and wishing to develop an original research project, please do not hesitate to contact us for an internship, a prospective position or to prepare an application to funding agencies.

Contact us

Address :
DEEM team - Unité d’Ecologie, Systématique et Evolution
Rue Doyen André Guinier, bâtiment 360
91400 Orsay, France

Phone: +33 (0)1 69 15 76 08

Diversity, Ecology and Evolution of Microbes
Equipe DEEM

Notre équipe s’intéresse à différents aspects de l’écologie et de l’évolution des microorganismes, de l’origine de la diversité microbienne et son évolution depuis l’origine de la vie sur Terre au rôle des communautés microbiennes dans les cycles biogéochimiques. Nous combinons des approches complémentaires tels l’exploration de la diversité environnementale des lignées procaryotes et eucaryotes à travers des approches de type métabarcoding, métagénomiques, « single-cell » et phylogénomiques pour inférer le potentiel fonctionnel et pour élucider l’histoire évolutive des différentes lignées microbiennes. Nous nous intéressons aussi à des questions interdisciplinaires, notamment à l’interface biologie-géologie.

L’équipe DEEM, fondée initialement par Puri Lopez-Garcia et David Moreira, est l’une des sept composantes de l’unité d’Ecologie, Systématique et Evolution (UMR 8079, CNRS – Université Paris-Sud – AgroParisTech).

Dernières parutions

Les archées représentent jusqu'au 99% des microorganismes des communautés des lacs hypersalés et influencés par le géothermalisme dans la Dépression du Danakil, Ethiopie

Découverte d'un nouveau phylum fongique, les Sanchytriomycota, par notre ancien thésard Luis Galindo, en collaboration avec Sergey Karpov

Vampirococcus lugosii, la bactérie vampire dévoilée à Nature Comms. Avec quelques curiosités historiques

Jolien et Laura ont contributé à une étude sur l'origine du conoïde chez les apicomplexes (PLoS Biol)

Missions de terrain

Septembre 2021 - Islande: échantillonnage de diverses sources termales entre volcans et glaciers

Décembre 2019 - Salar de Huasco, Chili: Accompagnés par Cristina Dorador et son équipe, nous avons échantillonné des tapis microbiens et des sédiments le long d'un gradient de salinité dans le Salar de Huasco à 3800 m de hauteur.

More information

Rejoignez-nous

Si vous êtes un étudiant motivé ou un jeune postdoc intéressé par nos activités de recherche et avec envie de développer un projet de recherché originale, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour un stage, une possibilité de financement ou pour préparer un projet pour une demande de bourse.

Contact

Adresse : Equipe DEEM Unité d’Ecologie, Systématique et Evolution Rue Doyen André Guinier, bâtiment 360, 91400 Orsay, France Tél.: +33 (0)1 69 15 76 08